Using Your 5 Senses

Haven’t done one of these posts in a while! I thought I would share with you one of the Creative Writing exercises I took part in last week thanks to my lovely (but very eccentric) lecturer. After completing the exercise I found it really useful for creating a base or the beginnings of a story/chapter. In a nutshell, we were told to go outside to our local mini shopping centre across the road from the university and come back with five things:

  • A Smell
  • A Line of Dialogue
  • Something you’ve tasted (described in detail how it tastes)
  • Something you’ve touched (e.g was it cold, hot, sharp, smooth)
  • A Colour Name (e.g. Asda Green)

The exercise was actually quite fun and I found it fascinating having to pay more attention to my surroundings. I wasn’t exactly subtle when trying to listen in on conversations or when I got caught feeling up a milk bottle but it was all part of the fun. The idea of this exercise was to write a story using all 5 items we had to collect. Immediately ideas started forming in my head, especially when you have a line of dialogue that you randomly picked up from a stranger.

I highly recommend that my fellow writers try this out!

Leave a Reply

