Dissertation Proposal

After changing my proposal about three or four times I finally settled on what I want to do for my dissertation. My focus is going to be on the Brontë sisters and Victorian society ideals on women and whether these were present within the sister’s work. If not then I was going to explore whether their work could be considered to be pro-feminist/the beginnings of feminism. I’m probably not explaining this very well but I had some good feedback and my tutor seemed pleased with the idea so I’ll just get started on researching and reading (EEK!)

My Working Title (subject to change)

How the Brontë sisters rebelled against Victorian society ideals through their work and whether that could be considered pro-feminist.

Leave a Reply

