A Tree

‘Don’t give up. You know you can do this.’ She tells me for the second time that day.

I give her a small smile in return knowing she is trying so hard to keep me motivated. To stop me from panicking like I had earlier to the point where I just wanted to quit and run away. 

‘Sometimes…I just wish I could turn into a tree to avoid all my responsibilities.’ I said wistfully. 

An eyebrow was raised in my direction, ‘A tree?’ she asked in disbelief.

‘Yes a tree.’

‘Why a tree?’ 

I glanced to my left and eyed the multiple trees rooted in the ground at the top of the hill. Completely still except for the slight breeze that disturbed the leaves. 

‘Peace I suppose. They are rooted and grounded. They are in a cycle that’s repeated. No nasty surprises. They just die in the winter and come back to life in the spring. Simple.’

‘Oh my darling,’ she said affectionately whilst holding my cheek, ‘Life is never meant to be simple.’ 

Leave a Reply

